Barrier Island Access and Re-Entry

Pinellas County Sheriff's Office
Patrol Operations Bureau
- Special Operations Division

Clearwater Police Department
Treasure Island Police Department

PINELLAS COUNTY - Pinellas deputies will be restricting access to the Pinellas County barrier islands starting at 7:00 a.m. on Tuesday, September 27, 2022, in preparation for Hurricane Ian. Only residents or citizens with legitimate business will be allowed access. The restricted access will continue until the storm passes the Pinellas County area.

Cities/Communities where access is restricted to barrier islands:

Belleair Beach
Belleair Shore
Dunedin Causeway/ Honeymoon Island
Indian Rocks Beach
Indian Shores
Madeira Beach
North Redington Beach
Redington Beach
Redington Shores
St. Pete Beach
Tierra Verde
Treasure Island

The following citizens will have access to barrier islands:

Property Owners
Business Owners
Business Employees

In order to gain access to the barrier islands, citizens must provide their Barrier Island Re-Entry Permit or photo ID and reasonable proof that they reside or have legitimate business on the barrier islands. Examples of this include:

Vehicle registration
Property tax or utility bill
Proof of employment (pay stub, work ID, uniform) Work orders

Additional law enforcement resources will be patrolling all of the mandatory evacuation areas to ensure public safety and protect property during this event. This includes the Pinellas County barrier island communities.

Updates will be provided when there are changes to the barrier island restrictions.

Posted by Amanda Sinni Monday, September 26, 2022 5:55:00 PM Categories: General News

Non Emergency Line: (727) 582-6200 | In an Emergency call 911ADA info